44th Chess Olympiad 2022: The Chess Olympiad has started with a bang; What are the contest rules?

Chess Olympiad 2022, Rules and Procedures: The rules and scoring systems for the 44th International Chess Olympiad have been released.

44th Chess Olympiad in Chennai: The 44th International Chess Olympiad, to be held in India for the first time, begins today with a Grand Opening Ceremony in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

The tournament will be held at Sheraton Mahabalipuram Resort and Convention Center located on East Coast Road, Chennai with the opening ceremony taking place at Nehru Indoor Stadium, Chennai.

This tournament will be held for the first time in India’s history with participants from over 180 countries across the globe.

The rules of this competition, the scoring system has been published. Its description:

In this regulation “Swiss” tournament, each team has a total of 11 rounds to play. At the end of each round, the table is said to be given with ties and the best teams with the most points competing in the following rounds.

There are 5 players in each team playing. One of them will be a substitute (reservist). The team captain must be the batsman.

The team management must decide in advance which teams will compete on the first four boards. The order cannot be modified at the last moment.

When the player on the first board gets a break in the game, the 2nd player must play on the first board. In such an environment, the replacing player can only play on the 4th board. A substitute cannot play on the first 3 boards for any reason.

A round is worth one point for a win and half a point for a draw. There is no reason to fail. In a 4-player game, the team that wins the most points will be awarded 2 points.

Each part will have 1h30 each. After the 40th coin toss, an additional 30 minutes will be granted for the rest of the game.

Mutual base cannot end in a draw until the 30th piece move. At the end of the 11 rounds, the team with the most points will win the gold medal.

If two teams are tied on points, the champion team will be determined based on who has won the most matches in previous matches.

The 2nd place team will get the silver medal and the 3rd place team will get the bronze medal. Apart from that, the individual top 3 will also have medals. For this only the actions of players playing on the same row board are taken into account. A player must complete at least 8 matches to earn this medal.

Instantly get all Tamil Indian Express news on Telegram app

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button